On Tuesday 9 February 2016, Tuks FM – South Africa’s most awarded radio station – celebrated its 35th birthday.

With four Campus Station of the Year awards over the last four years, the Tuks FM crew celebrated with a cake for its volunteers, to mark the occasion and to thank them for their contributions.

Since Tuks FM’s establishment in 1981, the station has produced many famous voices in the radio industry including Anele Mdoda, Sias du Plessis, Carmen Reddy, Rian van Heerden, Poppy Ntshongwana, Keneilwe Mohapi, Joe Mann, Gareth Cliff, Liezel van der Westhuizen, Kriya Gangiah, Tara Meaney, Simon Dingle, Nadia Romanos and Rob Forbes to name a few.

Tuks FM’s mission, as a community broadcaster, is to serve the students of the University of Pretoria through high quality, innovative content and activities. Tuks FM looks to continue to train its volunteers to become world class broadcast professionals, and to evolve into a media institution that reflects its community and global trends.

“The journey over the last 35 years has seen the station achieve many successes and become a formidable player in the South African radio industry. Whilst we fondly look back at the formative years of the station and the people who made it possible, we look forward to new successes in future. Here’s to the next 35 years of innovation and excellence,” says station manager, Dewald Noel van Niekerk.

For more information on Tuks FM visit tuksfm.co.za or email Tuks FM at info@tuksfm.co.za.

Above: The Tuks FM volunteers celebrate with a birthday cake.